Hot & Sour Vegetarian Layer Meat酸辣素三层肉(Dish-to-learn before Chinese New Year)

I know I know why dessert blog turned into chinese savoury dish?

Chinese new year is coming and I am part of this culture for long time, I would love to share and experiment some of the chinese dish I always want to try out. Bought this recipe magazine from the last trip to Malaysia, I haven’t have the time to really try.

Since husband cannot eat pork,poultry, beef or button,I have to substitute with vegetarian meat that I can find here.

Love this vegetarian layer meat,tasted so close to the pork.In fact it is free from trans-fat,cholesterol and  any preservatives.

It is always a headache for me to cook at home.I love pork, but he is not.

I always adore all the housewives who can cook different varieties from day to night,total respect.

Hope I can carry on this adventure and experimental journey with you if you don’t mind.

DSC_5703

Ingredients:

A:

400g of vegetarian layer meat/or pork meat

B:

40g shallots/red onion

5-6 garlic pieces

1 tbsp black/white vinegar

3-4 dried chillies

2 chillie padi

Seasonings:

30g sugar

1 tbsp dark caramel sauce

1.5 tbsp vegetarian soy sauce/oyster sauce

1/2 light soy sauce

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup water

1.Heat the wok with 1 tbsp vegetable oil, ingredients B saute awhile.

2.Add in vegetarian meat(or pork).

3.Mix in seasonings.

4.Allow the sauce to thicken little, roughly 10-15 minutes in medium-high heat.(For real pork meat, allow to boil.Once boiled,reduce heat to low heat and allow to simmer for 30minutes until sauce thicken)

5.Serve with rice.

DSC_5688

DSC_5684

This is how the vegetarian meat looks like, very chewy and love the fat imitation part, it tastes like jelly with elasticity,nice to the bite.DSC_5697

I have a plan, a plan to learn more cooking in kitchen. Hope you ladies don’t mind my little sharing of my culture. Thank you for your visit

4 thoughts on “Hot & Sour Vegetarian Layer Meat酸辣素三层肉(Dish-to-learn before Chinese New Year)

Your comments are deeply appreciated. Thank you for dropping by