Food Review: Zen Oasis Vegetarian Restaurant in Berrima, NSW

I always miss vegetarian food from my home town but to get on a flight every time I crave for it is just not economical at all.

So, husband and I went for 90 minutes drive to Berrima in Southern Highlands. Although it is situated on fringe of the beautiful historic village, we both enjoyed the entire trip. This restaurant is only open on weekends for lunch time. I heard so much good feedback of it, so I thought to give it a go.

The restaurant  offers a variety of gourmet delicacies which is over 30 selections of yum cha entrées, freshly wrapped sushi, home made desserts and a wide variety of hot and cold beverages. We did not get to taste the desserts much as we had plans for next dessert at some well known cafes nearby.

DSC_2636 DSC_2632

There was a long line outside the entrance , waiting for the restaurant to open. So, its true for the rumour, indeed there was a long line.

When I first entered the place,  Chinese calligraphy was the first thing I spotted, then gave a quick glance through the entire place, it  gives away the  rustic and cozy  ambiance   with the wood fire fired up to warm up the place. Mind me, the temperature outside was around 13° Celcius. The only problem was I did not get to take any proper pictures in with the limited time, the lighting did not make is easier as well. Besides, everyone rushed in for the food like a pack of wolves, unlike me who came in to look around and started to take pictures. Customers were lining up for food while I was standing there causing some inconvenience for them to feed their hungry appetite. Everybody lined up for food, if I took any longer time to capture picture, perhaps by the time I am done , there might not have been any food left for me  as too many starved tummies to be fed here. Forgive me  for the poor qualitiy of pictures .

zen oasis buffet 7 DSC_2572

zen oasis buffet 1

zen oasis buffet 2

zen oasis buffet 3

Freshly rolled sushi finished so quick that I got to taste 2 varieties.I only snapped this picture before I served myself. Lucky there was a person decicated in making new ones as the images below:

zen oasis buffet 6

This lady is the one who serve freshly rolled sushi.

zen oasis buffet 4

zen oasis buffet 5

zen oasis buffet 8 zen oasis buffet 9

What I picked for making my tummy happy:

DSC_2595

Deep Fried Breadcrumb tofu with vegetarian abalone

DSC_2598

Vegetarian Bak Kut Teh: bean curd skin, goji berries, some vegetarian meat in the soup

DSC_2599

Assorted deep fried snacks: glutinous rice balls, popiah, popiah skin with seaweed sheets, and more deep fry bean curd skin with vegetables…..

DSC_2601

Fried rice, vegetarian BBQ pork(char siu), deep fried snacks(unsure what is that but husband loved it the most)

DSC_2608

Stir fry vegetables, stir fry spicy mushroom with soy meat, crispy fish and mushroom skewer(my favourite but did not like the olive though)

DSC_2611

The least favourite is these steam glutinous crystal vegetables dumpling and steam glutinous pumpkin-like filled with some coconut fillings(not my favourite)

DSC_2613

All in all, the taste is very close to Malaysian vegetarian food. I wish that I could taste more of the dim sum such as steam BBQ bun, deep fried taro balls, or more mushroom made food. For appetite like my husband and he such a poor eater, this could be the one time deal.

The service is excellent. I saw those waiters  explained the ingredients of the varieties food to non-asian customers patiently. If anyone loves a good Asian vegetarian food, this is one of the options here close to Sydney so far I reckon.

After settling a nice meal, we went out of the restaurant to capture some surrounding area:

DSC_2642

DSC_2648

DSC_2653

DSC_2657

DSC_2664

DSC_2669

DSC_2676

DSC_2685

I enjoyed my time in Berrima, people here are mostly friendly.

Thanks for visiting.Hope you enjoy this simple sharing.

More Information:

Zen Oasis

Address and contact details are as follows:
230 Medway Road Berrima NSW 2577  (Berrima & Moss Vale Exit of Hume Highway).

Tel: (02) 4877 1285 or 0404 099 285  (Between 9:30am and 5:00pm Monday to Sunday for bookings. ) 

http://www.zen-oasis.com/

Your comments are deeply appreciated. Thank you for dropping by

