Pan Fry Pork Bun@spring onion 香葱生煎包

DSC_6235

DSC_6228

Pan fry pork bun is something I always want to learn after tried numerous times this shanghai restaurant in Sydney.Since I love this so much  , why not just recreate it?I have to practice the sealing skill!Love the juice from the pork oozing out when bite on it. Simple sharing in my own kitchen.I think I never get bored.

Recipe is translated and adapted from : http://goo.gl/NI08Vl

Bun Dough:

  • 250g cake flour,
  • 20g sugar,
  • 2g salt,
  • 140g water,
  • 10g vegetable oil,
  • 5g instant yeast

Pork Filling:

  • 100g pork mince(I used 250g) ,
  • 5g spring onion(I used 10g),
  • 5g ginger mince ,
  • 5g soy sauce ,
  • 3g dark soy sauce (I removed) ,
  • 3g cooking wine (I used mirin) ,
  • 5g sugar,
  • (I added ¼tsp chicken powder),
  • some water ( I roughly added 1/2cup)

Starch Solution:

15g corn flour, 75g water

Methods:

1)      Add chopped spring onion and ginger into the pork mince, then mix in all the seasoning.Mix well.

2)      Add water into the pork mixture and give a good stir. The key to have good filling is by adding more water into the pork mince. Remember to add water in few additions until you can see the pork cannot take in water anymore. Stir well each time you add in water.

3)      Pork gives a smooth and juicy texture when pork is fed with sufficient water. For better wrapping, keep the pork mixture into freezer for awhile.(I keep this for  an hour)

4)      Mix all the bun ingredients together and knead to form a smooth dough.

5)      Divide into 20 portions. (I divided into 12 portions)Roll into balls.

6)      Roll each dough into round disc, spoon in the filling and seal into a bun like.

7)      In your non stick saucepan: brush with some oil, place in the buns. Allow to proof for 30 minutes.

8)      Once the dough is proof,  turn on the heat for 5 minutes. Pour in the starch solution and lid on for 10 minutes.

9)      After 10 minutes , take out the bun, sprinkled with chopped spring onion and black sesame seeds.

DSC_6227 DSC_6229

Note:

  1. I personally suggest you adjust your heat  and time accordingly to the size of your bun. Throughout my cooking process, my pan was on low heat until the last few minutes, I turn up to high heat for crispy bottom and for water to dried up completely. Depending on how strong your heat is, so work your magic.
  2. If you prefer thicker bun dough, you always can adjust the pork filling and knead your bun dough thicker before sealing with the fillings. Since I want my bun to be thinner, I increase the amount of pork filling, yum yum…..
  3. Some love the bun dough used by plain flour and I want it to be quick, so I found this cake flour dough and it can be done within short time frame.
  4. Cake flour has the cakey texture while plain flour has little chewy bites to it.Depending which kind of texture you prefer.
  5. Starch solution can be eliminated if you want. Just oil the saucepan and pan fry it.

Enjoy. Would love to hear your feedback.

2 thoughts on “Pan Fry Pork Bun@spring onion 香葱生煎包

Your comments are deeply appreciated. Thank you for dropping by

