Caramel Coffee Mousse Tart ( Hubby’s 2013 Not so birthday-ish cake)

DSC_4953

It has been long time I haven’t blog any recipe here. I felt sorry for my blog. Since my right arm is aching most of the time, I was advised to stay away from typing, facebook-ing, taking pictures and baking.

Yesterday was my hubby’s birthday.

Something I cannot stay and run away is to making a birthday cake for my lovely hubby. No matter how pain my arm feels, I want to make him a homemade cake. Although he asked me not to bake anymore, I was planned ahead on this occasion to come for long time, I still force myself to bake him something which I felt so miserable for. What was in my mind is completely different from what my condition allows me to do.

Hubby loves anything with tart and he loves caramel. I gave him 2 choices: chocolate or caramel. Caramel is his final choice as many of my desserts are using chocolate.

DSC_4966.1

It has been the hottest spring ever. All my chocolate decor plans have been swept away by the heat in the kitchen. Even the mousse cake is not a very good idea but I need to push it since for my hubby’s birthday.

Can you see it started to melt away with the heat? It is not nice to take his cake for a photographing tour after blow the candle. Forgive me, I felt sad to create such simple cake for him. Blame myself and my arm.

DSC_4947-001

Never ever seen berries on my cake? Heat is the main reason, as well as the limit task I can take for my aching arm. Wish I am Lefty person.

Components you need:

  • chocolate sponge
  • salted peanut caramel
  • caramel coffee mousse
  • tart
  • berries

Chocolate Sponge:

  • 30g egg
  • 30g castor sugar
  • 25g Wester Star unsalted butter( or any unsalted butter)
  • 15g Cadbury baking dark chocolate/milk chocolate( or any baking chocolate)
  • 15g cake flour, sifted
  • 10g Hershey unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted ( or any cocoa powder)
  1. Beat egg and sugar in a bowl over a pot of simmering water until reach 40C or sugar dissolved. Remove from heat, continued beating until ribbon stage achieved.
  2. In another bowl: melt chocolate and butter, then fold into step ( 1 ) until well combined.
  3. Sifted in cake flour and cocoa powder and fold until well combined.
  4. Pour batter into a 13cm in diameter round cake pan, lined with baking paper.
  5. Bake at 180C for 18-20 minutes, or skewer comes out clean when inserted into middle of the cake,depending on individual oven.
  6. Remove from oven once cake is done. Invert pan on a cooling rack until completely cool.
  7. Slice the sponge into 2 layers.

__________________________________________________________________

Salted Peanut Caramel:

  • 30ml Bulla cream( or any dairy cream)
  • 20g castor sugar
  • 13g glucose ( or corn syrup )
  • 8g butter
  • 13g salted peanuts, chopped roughly
  1. Put cream and glucose in a saucepan over medium heat until 1 tsp sugar melts. Gradually add remaining sugar and stir continuously till all sugar has melted and it is light golden brown.
  2. Slowly pour in hot cream mixure onto caramel and whisking until combined.
  3. Whisk in butter, then fold in chopped peanuts.
  4. Keep  at room temperature until needed.

DSC_4957-001

__________________________________________________________________

Caramel Coffee Mousse:

  • 40g sugar
  • 10g water
  • 40g Bulla whipping cream ( or any dairy whipping cream)
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 40g sugar
  • 10g water
  • 8g gelatine powder in 20g water
  • 3g instant coffee granules ( I used decaffeinated coffee)
  • 10g hot water
  • 120g Bulla whipping cream( or any dairy whipping cream)
  1. Beat 120g cream until stiff peak formed, keep in refrigerator
  2. In a pot: heat 40g sugar and 10g water until amber colour achieved. Switch off heat. Add in 40g of cream, mix well. Allow to cool.
  3. In a new pot: Bring 40g sugar and 10g water to boil.
  4. Pour in slowly sugar syrup into beaten egg yolk, keep beating it until well combined.
  5. Place mixture over a pot of simmering water without touching the water, continued beating until pale and fluffy and thick. We called it ” Pate a Bombe”
  6. Microwave the gelatin mixture till dissolved. Add in gelatin in to Step ( 5 )-Pate a Bombe.
  7. Fold in caramel earlier in Step ( 2 ) into Step ( 6 ).
  8. Mix coffee granules into hot water and dissolved and allow to cool little.
  9. Fold in coffee mixture into Step ( 7 ). Mix well.
  10. Fold in whipped cream in Step ( 1 ) into Step ( 9 ). Mix well.
  11. Pour into a piping bag.

__________________________________________________________________

Sweet Pastry/Tart:

  • 100g Western Star unsalted butter, cut into cubes( or any unsalted butter)
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 2 tbsp icing sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tbsp cold water
  1. Prepared all ingredients and keep in refrigerator for 30 minutes. You can keep the processor container into refrigerator as well. Ensure all ingredients are cold.
  2. In a processor: Pulse butter , plain flour , salt and icing sugar until crumbly.
  3. Mix egg yolk and cold water together. Pour into processor and pulse until just comes together. (Do not over mix otherwise gluten forms )
  4. Get ready with cling wrap, dust generous amount of plain flour. Place the sweet pastry onto floured cling wrap.
  5. Chill for 30 minutes.
  6. Roll dough into a round disc and enough to put onto a 8″ round cake ring with baking paper sits under the cake ring.
  7. Allow to chill in fridge for another 30 minutes.
  8. Blind bake ( layer aluminium foil onto tart and weigh down by rice, beans) for 15 minutes at 180C, remove the rice and aluminium, then continued baking for 15 minutes until golden brown.
  9. Remove from oven and allow to cool down completely.

__________________________________________________________________

Assemble I:

  1. Pipe some caramel coffee mousse into a 7” round cake ring , sits above a baking tray with baking paper or acetate strip.
  2. Spread some salted peanut caramel onto a layer of chocolate sponge.Place chocolate sponge onto mousse.
  3. Pipe in all caramel coffee mousse.
  4. And finally place in the last piece of chocolate sponge and gently press in.
  5. Allow to freeze in freezer for at least 4 hours or more. ( I freeze overnight )

__________________________________________________________________

Assemble II:

1. Remove mousse from freezer. Gently blow the side of the cake ring with blow torch. Remove the mousse from the cake ring by pushing it out.

2. Ready with that tart/sweet pastry you prepared earlier. Place the mousse cake onto the tart . ( the mousse side faces up and sponge side faces down and contacts with the tart )

3. Decorate with any berries/fruits you desire.

4. Allow cake to chill in refrigerator for hours to bring back the temperature otherwise might be rock hard . Serve.

__________________________________________________________________

Note:

  • When you make the caramel, always remember not to over heat it otherwise caramel will be bitter.
  • Always careful when pouring cream into hot caramel during the process. It will splatter a little. Wear a proper apron everytime you cook anything with hot stuff.
  • Always ensure all ingredients for sweet pastry always remain cold.
  • Try not to over work with the sweet pastry. Do not over roll it. What I do is: after pulse all ingredients together, I layer baking paper on cling wrap then dust with some plain flour. Quickly roll into a round disc. The baking paper will help to make the work easier without sticking while removal. After roll, I place the sweet pastry which wrapped properly and allow to chill for the first 30 minutes.
  • When come to coffee crave, I like to use decaffeinated coffee in my dessert. You are welcome to use decaf coffee powder or even the liquid come out from your coffee machine. Coffee machines become so available in some household, use any flavour you like.

HAPPY TRYING ^_^

caramel coffee tart__________________________________________________________________

I have been trying to grow some indoor organic wheat grass at home. I have to admit, I am not a good gardener. All I do is follow instructions from my hubby and continue watering everyday. Something good about weather here : I put the seeds in the soil, it grows so quickly that I can harvest within a week. Is it the spring weather or the soil here? It is completely indoor with some sun light from the window. These wheat grass is harvested for me to make some juice.Taste? Really green……. you know what I mean.

DSC_4947 (2)-001

DSC_4946-001

This picture is taken by my hubby, playing with the camera.

Hubby has to work on his birthday, so what I do is celebrate with him one day before. Poor thing, we did not get to do anything because he hurts his back. Poor hubby.

DSC_4969

Since hand is my restriction and I cannot make anything nice for him, I decided to make some curry puff for his lunch. Recipe of the dough  is from Kathrine Kwa and make some potato filling.

A birthday cake is not so birthday-ish at all , hope my husband forgives me .

Baby, HAPPY BIRTHDAY….

Today’s word:

Our thoughts become our words. Therefore, it is vitally important that we choose life-generating thoughts. When we do, right words will follow.-by Joyce Meyer

Another thing: forgive me for not posting any pictures of the step as it was a bad day for me during this cake baking process.I forgotten to insert memory card in camera only I realised after I have taken all the pictures. Something cannot rewind or repeat, hope it is okay for you guys.

6 thoughts on “Caramel Coffee Mousse Tart ( Hubby’s 2013 Not so birthday-ish cake)

  1. A lovely Monday to you, Jong. This birthday cake of yours truly looks amazing. Loves the way you deco the cake. Just like a little garden of fresh berries. Oh yes ! Happy birthday to your hubby.

Your comments are deeply appreciated. Thank you for dropping by

